My clothes are too small.

Lately I’ve noticed my clothes aren’t very comfortable. My shirt sleeves are tight, my jeans seem short, and some of my shirt buttons are being pulled so tight they’re on the verge of becoming dangerous projectile weapons. Even my ‘fat’ jeans, aren’t so fat anymore –they actually fit me. I keep trying to convince myself that there must be something wrong with our clothes dryer. You know, that it’s getting too hot and shrinking everything. But the truth is… I’m just getting bigger.

I have finally come to realize admit, that I am an emotional eater. When I’m happy, I eat. When I’m sad, I eat. When I’m mad, I clean something really violently –then, I eat. And when I’m depressed, well let’s just say I usually end up sick for a few days. I’ve known that I have had a problem with food for quite a while. It’s actually been ongoing ever since I quit smoking 10 years ago. Back then, I was never really skinny, but I wasn’t overweight either. I never had to exercise or watch what I ate and always remained a healthy weight. But as soon as I quit smoking I started puffing up. My addiction to nicotine, morphed into an addiction to food, and now anytime I’m even slightly stressed, I turn to food for comfort.

So, it’s time to make some changes. I have made many attempts to lose weight in the past, but I always go overboard and make too many drastic decisions that I just can’t live with. So this time I’ve decided to set 3 simple rules:

1) Eat smaller, more frequent meals –portion control.
2) Eat more veggies & fruit and less sugar & processed foods.
3) Exercise at least 30 minutes, 6 days a week.

All last week I ate lighter meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner and had small fruit & veggie based snacks in between. I also started going for a bike ride every night after work. I didn’t lose any weight yet, but I feel much better already. Now all I have to do is get that consistency thingy down, and I just might be thinner soon.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday night, Allen went out, and since he does 90% of the cooking, I was left to fend for myself. I was in a rather creative mood, so I just winged it and threw this together:

I’ve dubbed thee, Cucumber Carrot Salad. My ‘more veggies’ rule has had me eating a lot of salad lately, but I’ve been getting sick of lettuce. This was an attempt to make a delicious healthy salad, minus the boring romaine. I LOVED IT. I was somewhat in shock that I actually came up with this on my own. Usually, I can’t cook at all unless there are specific instructions for me to follow. I even read the directions for Ramen Noodles. It’s sad, really. But since this was such a success I figured I had to share it.

Cucumber Carrot Salad
1/2 cucumber, peeled, sliced & quartered
3 slices red onion, quartered
1 carrot, shredded (I ‘shredded’ it using my peeler)
1 slice bacon, chopped
1 oz goat cheese, crumbled

This turned out so well, I started feeling all Martha Stewart and whipped up a surprisingly yummy salad dressing too!

Honey-Lemon Vinaigrette
1/3 cup lemon juice
1/3 cup safflower oil
1 Tbsp golden balsamic vinegar
1 Tbsp honey
italian seasoning
basil
garlic powder
salt
pepper

I don’t know the amounts on the seasonings. I just added a little at a time until it tasted right.

Here’s to hoping I can keep inventing delicious recipes like these to help me stay on track with my weight loss. Go ahead and give them a try. And be sure to come back and leave a comment with your feedback –I’d love to hear what you think.

3 Comments

  1. wow nica i think you are on to something…seriously. its been my experience that sticking with something is the only single way to achieve it. you smoked for quite a while. then traded eating for smoking. both those things took time, stay with this 3 point thing for a while and it will become like smoking and eating. suggestion: try a shallot in your carrot salad. it has a very nice taste
    Enjoy
    pprick

    Reply

  2. That looks delicious! I love the way you have broken away from a diet and more eating guidelines. Diets do not work because nobody in their right mind would eat that restrictively for the rest of their life, by modifying HOW you eat you have more than a fighting chance!

    Reply

  3. Thanks Arie! It’s been quite a battle to stay on track. I’ve slipped up with my exercise rule a bit, but the portion control and eating more veggies has stuck pretty well. I’ve added a few more modifications and the weight is really starting to come off now. I’ll be writing a post about it soon. Hope you’re doing well! Glad you found my blog. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

